Both companies ship beef to your door. Past that, the two operations are built differently enough that a straight side-by-side is worth doing before you subscribe to either one.
Quick takeaway: REP Provisions raises 100% grass-fed, grass-finished cattle on American farms only, nothing is imported, and the farms are Audubon certified and verified regenerative farming methods. REP also publishes independent nutrient testing on its beef. ButcherBox's fully grass-fed beef is imported from Australia, and its American-raised beef is grain-finished at the end. If raised in America and grass-finished for life is the point, only one of these companies gives you that combination.
REP is also radically transparent. You can follow them on social media (instagram and facebook @repprovisions) and see your food being raised by the farmers who raised it. They also publish their beef nutrient density analysis results so you can see exactly what you are putting in your body. Knowing your farmer and your food is a big focus of what they do that can't be replicated by Butcherbox or grocery stores.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Where the Cattle Actually Come From
This is the part worth reading closely, because the two companies solve it in opposite ways. ButcherBox says plainly that its 100% grass-fed beef is sourced from Australia, where it describes the climate and pasture as better suited to raising cattle on grass alone. Its other beef program is raised in the U.S. but grain-finished, meaning the cattle eat grass early on and grain at the end to add marbling. Pick American, and you're picking grain-finished. Pick grass-finished, and you're picking imported.
REP doesn't ask a customer to make that trade. Cattle are raised on 100% American farms, on REP's own ranch plus a small network of partner farms across Oklahoma. None of it is imported, and none of it ever sees a grain ration. REP will never import beef because their focus is healing the Tallgrass Prairie, and, to do that you need to manage animals on the land you are trying to regenerate.

Grass-Fed Isn't the Same Thing as Grass-Finished
"Grass-fed" by itself is a weaker claim than it sounds. USDA doesn't currently enforce a single definition of it, which is exactly why the finishing diet matters more than the front label. Shockingly, "grass-fed beef" can be confined indoors and fed grass through a window - that is also considered grass-fed. An animal can be grass-fed for a portion of it's life and still be finished on grain in a concentrated animal feeding operation, also-known-as a feedlot for the last several months. That's ButcherBox's own description of its U.S. beef.
REP's cattle are 100% grass-fed and grass-finished, meaning grass and forage from birth to harvest, no grain ration at any stage. That's the whole difference between a marketing phrase and a full accounting of what the animal actually ate.

What Each Company Certifies, and What It Doesn't
Certifications aren't interchangeable, they measure different things. ButcherBox's land-based suppliers are audited under Certified Humane or the Global Animal Partnership, both animal welfare standards, and the company is B Corp certified. Those are real programs, but neither one measures what's happening to the land itself.
REP's farms are Audubon certified for bird and habitat conservation. They are also verified as regenerative, which tracks actual outcomes on the ground, soil health, water and biodiversity, rather than just a list of practices. ButcherBox's public materials don't mention a land or regenerative practices for either of its beef programs.
No Antibiotics, No Added Hormones. REP Goes a Step Further.
Both companies make the same baseline commitment here. ButcherBox states its proteins are raised with no antibiotics or added hormones, ever. REP makes the identical commitment and adds one more: its cattle never receive mRNA vaccines, at any stage. ButcherBox's public materials don't address mRNA vaccines one way or the other, so that's a REP-specific detail, not a knock against ButcherBox's own stated practices.
Do They Show You the Receipts?
Anyone can put "nutrient-dense" on a label. REP has their beef tested through an independent lab and publishes the actual results, fatty acid ratios and nutrient markers like vitamins A, E and B12, iron and zinc, at repprovisions.com/pages/lab-results. It's not a summary graphic, it's the report itself. ButcherBox's FAQ and sourcing pages don't mention published nutrient lab results for its beef.

Comparison Chart
Side by side
REP vs. ButcherBox, Point by Point
Same questions asked of both programs — sourcing, finishing, verification, and how you actually buy.
| What Matters | REP Provisions | ButcherBox |
|---|---|---|
| Where cattle are raised | 100% American farms (Oklahoma, Missouri, Texas), never imported | Grass-fed beef from Australia; grain-finished beef from the U.S. |
| Finishing diet | 100% grass-fed and grass-finished, no grain, ever | Either grass-finished (Australian) or grain-finished (U.S.), not both together |
| Land or regenerative certification | Audubon certified bird friendly | Not stated for either beef program |
| Animal welfare certification | Verified through the same regenerative outcome standard above | Certified Humane or Global Animal Partnership audited |
| Antibiotics and added hormones | None, ever | None, ever |
| mRNA vaccines | None, ever | Not addressed in public materials |
| Published nutrient testing | Yes, independent lab results published | Not published |
| How you buy | Bulk beef shares (whole, half, quarter and smaller) plus curated boxes; one-time or subscription, skip or cancel anytime | Subscription box only, Signature or Essentials plans, $159 to $319 per box, ships every 2 to 6 weeks |
Where cattle are raised
REP Provisions
100% American farms in Oklahoma, never imported
ButcherBox
Grass-fed beef from Australia; grain-finished beef from the U.S.
Finishing diet
REP Provisions
100% grass-fed and grass-finished, no grain, ever
ButcherBox
Either grass-finished (Australian) or grain-finished (U.S.), not both together
Land or regenerative certification
REP Provisions
Audubon certified bird friendly
ButcherBox
Not stated for either beef program
Antibiotics and added hormones
REP Provisions
None, ever
ButcherBox
None, ever
mRNA vaccines
REP Provisions
None, ever
ButcherBox
Not addressed in public materials
Published nutrient testing
REP Provisions
Yes, independent lab results published
ButcherBox
Not published
How you buy
REP Provisions
One-time or subscription (no commitment, skip, swap or cancel anytime)
Bundled Value Boxes, Individual Cuts and Bulk beef shares (half, quarter and smaller)
ButcherBox
Subscription box only, Signature or Essentials plans, $159 to $319 per box, ships every 2 to 6 weeks
Every ButcherBox figure above comes from their public materials — nothing inferred.
Key Takeaways
- ButcherBox's 100% grass-fed beef is imported from Australia; its American beef is grain-finished. It can't offer both American-raised and grass-finished in the same product.
- REP's beef is 100% American, 100% grass-fed and grass-finished, with no grain ration at any point.
- REP's farms are Audubon certified and implement regenerative farming methods and tracking; ButcherBox's certifications cover animal welfare, not land outcomes.
- Both companies avoid antibiotics and added hormones. REP also states its cattle never receive mRNA vaccines. ButcherBox does not address this.
- REP publishes independent nutrient lab results on its beef. ButcherBox does not publish comparable testing.
- REP offers both one-time purchase and subscription options. They also offer single cuts, bundled value boxes and bulk beef shares; ButcherBox is subscription-only.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is ButcherBox's beef really grass-fed?
Some of it. ButcherBox sells two different beef programs. Its 100% grass-fed, grass-finished beef comes from Australia. Its U.S.-raised beef starts on grass and is grain-finished at the end. A customer has to pick one or the other; ButcherBox does not offer beef that is both American-raised and grass-finished.
Does ButcherBox import any of its beef?
Yes. ButcherBox states its 100% grass-fed beef is sourced from Australia. Its grain-finished beef is raised in the U.S.
Is REP Provisions beef always grass-fed and grass-finished?
Yes. REP's cattle are raised on 100% American farms in Oklahoma and are 100% grass-fed and grass-finished with no grain at any point in their lives. None of it is imported.

Does REP Provisions publish its nutrient testing?
Yes. REP sends its beef to an independent lab and publishes the results, including fatty acid ratios and nutrient markers like vitamins A, E and B12, iron and zinc, at repprovisions.com/pages/lab-results.

Do both companies avoid antibiotics and added hormones?
Both make that commitment. REP also states its cattle never receive mRNA vaccines, a detail ButcherBox's public materials do not address either way.



Comments (0)
There are no comments for this article. Be the first one to leave a message!